Hey there!

Phew! This blog has taken me a bit to figure out, but I’m always up for trying new things. I mean I wouldn’t be studying abroad if I didn’t like to try new things, right? Anyways, let me introduce myself.

My name is Emma Cohen and I’m from a small town in Upstate New York called Stillwater. I’m currently majoring in Political Science  at the State University of Oneonta. Studying at SUNY Oneonta has been an amazing experience so far, but I know studying abroad this coming semester will be just as amazing!

While studying abroad in Copenhagen I will be taking the core course “The European Game of Politics: Crisis and Survival” where I will spend time traveling to Brussels, The Hague, Southern Denmark, and Northern Germany. I’ll also be taking courses entitled Danish Language and Culture, Equality in Scandinavia, and the Meaning of Style. While I’m stressed about not knowing where I’ll be living until a few days before I leave, studying abroad is a way for me to test myself and know that while things might be stressful in the moment, everything will work itself out in the end.

Studying abroad has been a dream of mine since I started thinking about college and its humbling to know that I have been granted such a unique opportunity. I can’t wait to learn everything I can about Denmark and their culture as well as any other countries I visit. I want to know how the American political system differs the Danish political system. What do Danes think of Americans? What is Denmark’s relationship to the European Union?How do Danes see life in general if they are consistently ranked as some of the happiest people in the world?

While I’ll have to wait to answer these questions in future blog posts I’ll end this post with some pictures for you to get to know me and my life a little bit more!

hamfam
My parents and I seeing “Hamilton: An American Musical!” We’re pretty big fans of theater so this was amazing!

cohenclan
Hanging out with some of my family members over the summer in our cabin in New Hampshire

These are my two cats, Anna on the left and Tolstoy on the right. I love these furry guys and I’m definitely going to miss them a lot while I’m studying abroad!

Leave a Reply

