Food Fun

For the past few days it seems like my friends and I have gotten to try a bunch of new restaurants (and for me, new foods) so here’s a little review of the places we’ve been to!

 

Banana Joe’s 

My friend Jared discovered this place early on and went back with us when we ate there for the first time on Friday night. He described it as a whole in the wall that barely fit four people, but that the food was so good and the owner so nice that we just had to go. Now I thought that this place might be small, but not that small. Turns out I was wrong. This place barely fit the 6 people in our group and when another group of 5 showed up there was essentially no where to move.

But it didn’t matter at all that we couldn’t move because the burgers were THAT GOOD. I don’t normally love burgers but these were burgers that just had a little bit of everything on them…meat, a fresh bun, cheese, onions, cucumbers (instead of pickles), and some kind of sauce that just tied everything together. So messy yet so delicious.

img_2876
This is the only picture I got of the burgers because they were so good we couldn’t put them down.

And to top it all off, Joe, the owner, was such a nice guy. Before we went, Jared was telling us how he had talked to Joe a lot the first time he went and learned that this burger joint was actually Joe’s second job. He worked for another company during the day and only opened up the burger place from 5-10pm each night. Joe had lived all over Europe, spoke a ton of different languages, and really didn’t make a profit off of this business. Instead he kept it open to feed people good food at low prices and get to know the people living in his community. This place was amazing and I know I’ll definitely go back before the end of the semester!

Shawarma

Before coming to Copenhagen I don’t think I had ever heard about shawarma. It turns out its when meat (lamb, chicken, turkey, beef, veal) is placed on a spit and grilled for about a day. Shavings of the meat are cut off from the block and served on a plate or as a sandwich or wrap. Its a dish from the Middle East, but it’s similar to a gyro.

For days, my friend Rebecca had been talking about getting shawarma to eat and asking every Dane we met where the best place to go was. It turns out Nørreport is the best place in Copenhagen to get good shawarma for a good price. Our friend Kasper took us there on Saturday afternoon and I have to say it lived up to all of Rebecca’s hype.

img_2902
The shawarma…chicken on homemade pita bread!

The meat was flavorful, the pita was homemade, and the place was nice and warm (it was getting really cold outside while we walked). Though I might not end up at this exact place the next time I want some shawarma, I’ll probably be eating this dish again!

Wagamama 

After our classes on Monday, a few friends and I decided to go out for lunch. My friend Erica suggested we go to Wagamama, a place she used to go to with her family when they visited Europe and a place that does not have many restaurants in the United States. Though it was cold and rainy as we walked, the restaurant itself was warm and inviting.

Here, they serve Japanese and Asian style meals like Ramen, Omakase, Teppanyaki, Donburi, and Curry plus a variety of teas and juices. Everything is made fresh to order which was great because the flavors of our lunch were that much better. I tried the Chicken and Prawn Yaki Soba which was soba noodles with chicken and shrimp, egg, peppers, beansprouts, white and spring onions, garnished with fried shallots, pickled ginger and sesame seeds. Definitely something different than I would normally eat at home, but delicious nonetheless. Plus it was presented so nicely! Though I might not come back here (because it’s a bit expensive to eat out in Copenhagen) it was a great, warm meal on a cold, cloudy day.

img_2926
Look at all those delicious noodles!
Leave a Reply

