One month later 

One month!

One month.

One month?

It’s been a month since I left the United States and landed in Copenhagen to start my study abroad semester and what a month it has been! The first few hours, and days to be honest, were tiring, scary, and pretty overwhelming. The plane rides here were long and not knowing anybody in the program was a daunting thought that kept running through my mind. Multiple times I thought if this was the right decision for me. Was I really ready to study abroad?

Yes.

Over the past month I’ve learned that I am capable of doing more than I thought I could. I survived going to the Danish grocery store and cooking myself dinner. I successfully took both the metro and bus from my kollegium to my classes. I’ve even made new best friends from all over America and Denmark since coming here who have already helped me become a better person. I’ve visited so many cool cafes, museums, and even another country! And I’ve still got more than 3 months to spend here!

Of course I miss my parents and family and friends and cats back in the states. (The post it notes you see in a heart in the photo for this post were daily words of encouragement from my mom (and dad) and they made me smile everyday ❤❤❤ ) I’ve gained a deeper appreciation for these people while being away from them and I don’t know if anyone I meet here could ever truly replace them. But I’ve also learned how to depend on myself more than before, now with the knowledge that I can do whatever I set my mind to.

So if you’re a prospective study abroad student reading this blog listen here: studying abroad will be the hardest and most rewarding thing you have done in your young life. It will test your limits and your resolve, but the rewards will be so worth it in the end. And you can trust me when I say this because I’ve only been here for a month and I already love it!! 😁

 

Leave a Reply

